Erik Satie and the chasm in my chest

The piano goes on quietly, accenting the hollow disharmonious state of me (and the state of everything lately). Kismet begins to cast its shadow, I can feel the forthcoming departure and ruin, envisage destiny in black visiting again with a violent invasion. Or is it hopelessness I feel? Pessimism maybe? After all, I am a haunted cynic with a dilapidated trove of ghosts in her chest. But I am never fazed, having come from a place where pain was glory and glory was pain, I am made of anguish.

I feel bereft, or is it the piano projecting its melancholy music onto me? Or the night with its brooding darkness and stillness evoking long forgotten thoughts? I don’t know, but I don’t want the quiet to end, I want to seep into the sad piano and melt into the night and vanish…

Leave a comment